October 17, 2022

Raise the Region - Thank you

The Community Foundation for the Greater Capital Region reimagined the annual Celebration of Philanthropy.

On Tuesday October 11, 2022, we gathered to honor Gloria DeSole and Meredith Butler, with the C. Jordan Vail Spirit of Philanthropy Award, Walter Thorne, Albany Business Review’s Publisher and Market President and Jonathan Jones, Commissioner of the City of Albany Youth and Workforce Services with the Community Beacon Award.

The luncheon was luncheon was hopeful, joyful and FULL of community.

Take a moment to view our gallery of photos (shot by Jayana LaFountaine of Jayana LaFotos) in the SEEN Galleries by the Times Union and enjoy these tribute videos created to honor our 2022 awardees.

Tribute Video: Gloria DeSole and Meredith Butler, C. Jordan Vail Spirit of Philanthropy Award

Tribute Video: Walter Thorne, Community Beacon

Tribute Video: Jonathan Jones, Community Beacon

As we look back at the celebration, we’re grateful for our sponsors for making #RaisetheRegion and many CFGCR initiatives possible:


Honorary Committee

Founding Members

Rich and Carol Miller
Julie Massry Knox and James Knox
Mallory and Murray Massry
Micki and I. Norman Massry
John J. Nigro
Edward P. Swyer
Linda and Michael Toohey

Community Investors

Betsy & Chris Bender
Lauren DeSole, Esq. and John Agnetti
Pam and John Eberle
Judith Fetterley and Sara McCain
Georgia P. Kelly
John and Pam MacAffer
Patty Michaelson & Walt Klisiwecz
Susan Carroll Picotte, Esq.
David C. Rowley, Esq.
Frank and Sarah Slingerland
Charles Touhey & Alice Green
Kathryn Zox


Wallace and Jane Altes
Phoebe Powell Bender
Audra K. Higgins, Simmons Capital Group
Barbara K. Hoehn
Paul Hohenberg
Susan Kress
Alicia and Mike Lasch
Dennis P. McKenna, MD
Kevin O’Bryan
Ellen Sax, MVP Health Care


Lisa Audi, Bring on the Spectrum
Judith Barlow
Jeffrey Bender
Alexis Bhagat, Albany Public Library
Michael & Judith Boyd
Moriah Boyd
Anthony Capobianco
Leslie Cheu
Christopher L. Cimijotti, CPA
Joanmarie M. Dowling, Esq.
Mark Eagan
Wayne A. Evancoe
Dr. Francine Frank
Peter Gannon, United Way
Dr. Janet Gargiulo
Bob and Jane Hennes
Belinda Hilton
Liz Hitt, HATAS
Bryan LaVigne & Kevin Tyle
Margaret Malicki
Jeff Mirel
Meaghan Murphy, Esq.
A.C. Riley
Saratoga National Bank and Trust Co.
Mayor Kathy M. Sheehan, City of Albany
Herb Shultz
Starletta R. Smith
Lynette & Michael Tucker
Susan E. Ungerman

Special thanks to our video presenters

Hon. Dorcey Applyrs, Dr.PH., MPH, Chief Auditor, City of Albany
Michael Boots, University at Albany
Shaquore Caldwell, Youth Workforce Member
Mark Eagan, President & CEO, Capital Region Chamber and Center for Economic Growth
Judith Fetterley, Ph.D., Distinguished Teaching Professor/University at Albany
Ebony Holman, Youth Workforce Member
Dwayne Killings, Head Coach, Men’s Basketball, University at Albany
Lee McElroy, Ph.D., AVP & Director of Athletics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Alfredo Medina, Jr., Ph.D., VP of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Bennington College
Jermaine Moore, Youth Workforce Member
John J. Nigro, President, Nigro Companies
Libby Post, Political Consultant and Lobbyist
Diamond Quiles, Youth Outreach Coordinator, City of Albany
Hon. Kathy M. Sheehan, Mayor, City of Albany
Raphael Tucker, Deputy Commissioner, Youth and Workforce Development, City of Albany

Acknowledgements and credits:

Flowers created by Blooms By Marie, LLC
Photography by Jayana LaFountaine, Jayana LaFotos
Video Production by Zebulon Schmidt, Proctors Collaborative